P3: Karlsruher Institut fuer Technologie (KIT)


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a higher education and research organisation with about 8000 employees, 18,500 students, and a total annual budget of about 700 million Euros. KIT was established on 01/10/2009 as merger of Universität Karlsruhe (founded in 1825), one of Germany’s leading research universities, and Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (founded in 1956), one of the largest research centres in the Helmholtz Association which concentrates on the five research areas of Energy, Structure of Matter, Earth and Environment, Health, and Key Technologies.
The Programme Nuclear Safety Research (NUKLEAR) within KIT is recognized as a long-term, provident research activity, studying scientific aspects of reactor safety and the safety of nuclear waste disposal. The results are applied in the public interest domain in order to contribute to the continuous improvement of the high safety standards of German nuclear installations and to provide the scientific and technical tools for the long-term safe nuclear waste disposal, including Partitioning and Transmutation. The scientific research work is performed in five academic Institutes, among which the Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology (IHM), the Institute for Nuclear and Energy Technologies (IKET) and the Institute for Applied Materials – Material Process Technology (IAM-WPT) contribute to SEARCH. The strategy and co-ordination work is performed by the Programme Management.

KIT was or is a participant in other relevant projects such as EUROTRANS/DEMETRA, ELSY (both FP 6), ADRIANA, LEADER and THINS (all three FP 7).

In SEARCH, KIT contributes to WPs 2, 3 and 5 and is WP leader of WP3.

Key persons involved in the project:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas G. Class got a degree in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Karlsruhe in 1989. He earned his PhD thesis on “Cellular structure of laminar premixed stagnation point flames” at the University of Karlsruhe. He did a Postdoc at the Northwestern University, IL, USA, in the Department of Engineering Sciences and Applied Math. Since 1995 he is Head of the Flow Modelling Group.

Dr. Alfons Weisenburger joined FZK in 1994. He did his PhD thesis on production of nanocrystalline materials using pulsed power methods. Since three years he is involved in surface modification of materials using pulsed electron beams and in investigations related to liquid metal corrosion. Since 2002 he is senior scientist in the electron beam and corrosion lab responsible for the investigation of material surface modification due to electron beam treatment and corrosion. Since 2006 he is Group Leader of the Section ´Surface Technologies´ at FZK/IHM.

Claudia Matzerath Boccaccini holds a degree in Meteorology from the University Karlsruhe, Germany (1985). She joined KIT in 1987 in the department of applied system analysis, working on R&D of atmospheric dispersion modelling of wide area transport of smog, based on a forecasting model of Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD). In 2001 she joined KIT's Institute for Nuclear and Energy Technologies where she worked on dynamics of Accelerated Driven Systems and modelling of reactor accident scenarios.

Dr. Donella Pellini has a MSc. Degree in Nuclear Engineering and a PhD in Energy Engineering from the University of Pisa (2011). Since 2008 she is a scientist at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany. She is experienced in the field of liquid metal reactors, particularly in numerical simulations of heavy liquid metal-water interaction with SIMMER III code. She collaborated with ENEA Brasimone and University of Pisa in the frame of IP-EUROTRANS and ELSY programme.

Dr. Carsten Schroer received a degree in chemical engineering and a PhD in chemistry from the University of Dortmund, Germany. After working on high-temperature corrosion in municipal waste-incineration plants at the Max-Planck-Institute for Iron Research, Düsseldorf, Germany, he joined KIT in 2000. Since then, he has worked on various projects dealing with corrosion at elevated temperature, e.g., in super-critical water, sulphuric acid and lead-bismuth eutectic. He has become leader of the Liquid Metal Technology Group of the Corrosion Department in 2010.